Skip to main content »

Trinity College Dublin

School of Chemistry

Prof John Boland

Prof John Boland
Prof John Boland

Email:             jboland AT

Telephone:    +353.1.896 3140

The focus of John Boland’s Research Group is the area of surface chemistry and the manner in which it controls the properties of nanoscale materials and devices. This includes; developing methodologies for measuring the mechanical properties of nanoscale systems, surface stresses that accompany chemical reactions and the influence these stresses have on the atom-scale reactivity and the properties of nanoscale systems and understanding the nature of contacts that are formed between conducting metallic lead to single nanoscale objects.

Prof John Boland received a BSc degree in chemistry from University College Dublin and a PhD in chemical physics from the California Institute of Technology, where he was an IBM graduate fellow and recipient of the Newby-McKoy graduate research award. From 1984 to 1994 Prof Boland was a member of the research staff at the IBM T.J. Watson Research Center (New York). In 1994 he joined the chemistry faculty at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill where he was appointed the J.J. Hermans Chair Professor of Chemistry and Applied and Materials Science.  In 2002 Prof Boland moved to the School of Chemistry at Trinity College Dublin as a Science Foundation Ireland Principal Investigator. In 2004 he was appointed Director of the Centre for Research on Adaptive Nanostructures and Nanodevices (CRANN). He was elected a Fellow of Trinity College in 2008, a fellow of the American Vacuum Society (AVS) in 2009 and a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) in 2010.  He was Laureate of the 11th ACSIN Nanoscience Prize in 2011, St Petersburg, Russia and recipient of the Science Foundation Ireland (SFI) Research Image of the year in 2011. Prof Boland was awarded a €2.5 million research grant by the European Research Council (ERC) in 2013, the second only Advanced ERC grant ever awarded in Physical Sciences in Ireland. The award will allow him to continue his work on nanowire networks.